They call it Open Bar, I call it awesome!

So like many companies, at Abunga.com we use 37signals Basecamp as our online project management tool  – both internally to manage projects, vendors and interns, but also externally with our design firm.

So we were juggling two accounts – and I was thinking, why can’t we combine these somehow, and then those smart people, they went ahead and did it.

So as of earlier this week if you change all your log-in’s for the different Basecamp accounts (or any 37signals product) to OpenID, you’ll see a change in your Basecamp like below, where my three accounts are listed at the top, and you can move between them seemlessly.  They call it Open Bar and I call it awesome!

My three accounts are:

  • Abunga.com
  • Fabric Extranet
  • Slack Management Co.

Basecamp Mulitple

I like it.  See here for the full post from 37signals
Anyone else try it?  Thoughts? Concerns?

9 Responses to “They call it Open Bar, I call it awesome!”


  1. 1 Fred Nealson February 15, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I’ve had my reasons to quit Basecamp, but I now I use Wrike [http://www.wrike.com] I like this service cause it’s built just lik email. You can invite people and they can use their own accounts not just for collaboration with you, but also for managing their other projects. In fact that’s how I got to know about the tool. My colleague sent me an invitation.

  2. 2 Martina Sorensen February 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Maybe these are good online project management tools, but I can say for sure that ProjectOffice.net is more intuitive and easier to use. Why? ProjectOffice.net offers online project management, time management, issue tracking, wikis and much more, and the best thing is that it’s free. So, why would you pay?

  3. 3 gbaker February 15, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Fred,

    Thanks for the tip on Wrike. It certainly addresses one of my main complaints about Basecamp, which is the poor ease of use on my Blackberry. Email solves that, I’ll certainly take a look at it.

  4. 4 gbaker February 15, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    @Martina

    ProjectOffice.net looks nice, but why do you say it is more intuitive and easier to use than Basecamp or Wrike? I’m always on the look out for better solutions so I wonder if it could fill my needs better?

    Thanks.

  5. 5 Martina Sorensen February 18, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I don’t say ProjectOffice.net is the best PM solution there is, but it completely satisfies my PM needs. I don’t need an advanced PM solution, although I need a little of everything, thus ProjectOffice.net is just right. It is more intuitive and easy to use because when you enter the application you know what to do, it has a natural workflow which is not quite the case with Wrike (I stopped using it because of the annoying callouts when you first register) and Basecamp (no user friendly GUI).
    As for the OpenID, ProjectOffice.net doesn’t support it, but you don’t need, since you can work in several spaces with one login. You only choose the space from the dropdown list of spaces (accounts) you work in. There is no need for logging in and out.

    The only thing that I am not particularly fond of is that ProjectOffice.net doesn’t have reports. I hope they are considering it soon.

    All the best,
    Martina

  6. 6 gbaker February 21, 2008 at 9:23 am

    @Martina

    Thanks for the breakdown of ProjectOffice.net. I did check out their site and it for me, it just doesn’t draw me away from Basecamp which works well for us. As I mentioned earlier @Fred the only thing Basecamp doesn’t do well is the ability to reply to a message or post using email. I guess it’s just different strokes for different folks – because I find the Basecamp GUI pretty easy to use.

    Do work mostly on a Mac or a PC?

    Thanks.

  7. 7 Call Me J July 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    This is good info to have. I work for a fairly large/growing interactive company. One of my biggest complaints about basecamp first and foremost is their customer service. I have read their responses to other customers and I myself have received some pretty terrible responses. Either they all but tell you that you’re stupid or they just tell you that it could never do that in the first place (when for the past couple years it did). That very large problem aside…now they’ve just become unreliable.

    All in all it’s just been one pain after another working with Basecamp. The many problems we’ve encountered are just too long to list. I’m at the point now, after several years of being a customer, that I’m going to terminate the account. I just have to find an alternative first, so this article and some of the responses are helpful because I hardly have the time to research another tool. I just wish that the service we currently use was reliable.

  8. 8 Discover More July 18, 2013 at 12:31 am

    With thanks for sharing your fantastic internet site.


  1. 1 avg free 2016 offline installer Trackback on October 17, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos


